What should I write about?

I used to write a lot. I used to write about all sorts of things. It is an outlet that I haven’t really used to it’s promising extent lately (about 4-5 years) with the exception of writing some poetry when prompted. I was part of a poetry writing group for a little while, I guess you could say.

Oh, I know – how about this. So I got out of the Navy in 2012, and I’ve really had a complete mind-shift since. I guess most people go into the military and it reinforces some sense of entitlement or expectation in them. A lot of people will say that finding employment these days is more difficult. I really believe being a veteran makes it even more difficult, especially if you don’t go in the route of entitlement, and instead have somewhat disassociated from your ego instead. My expectations in life have changed drastically. I’ve realized that the world we live in is really some cheap imitation of reality. All the things I was raised to believe were important or that I was supposed to be doing with my life to gain some pat on the back or societal praise for accomplishing , I now feel are completely useless and fruitless avenues. For example, I don’t really care about a job that pays me X amount of dollars, I’m not interested in working for a place that has no humanity or thinks racism or discrimination is common place or acceptable. My standards have increased to the point that I’d rather be unemployed than work for an organization that doesn’t like up with what my views are on the world in general.

I spend a lot of time contemplating ways to fix humanities problems and different things I can do, as well as others, to make the world a better place. Making money and having some title that is supposed to garner respect seems so far fetched and ridiculous to me now. I believe I really am at turning path and I chose the path that was more difficult to avoid sacrificing my ideals. I left a high paying, minimally stressful job, to work on myself and figure out a better way to move forward in life that matches my personal definition of success, instead of everyone else’s. I’ve really found myself drifting away from people who live in the charade of perceived power. I don’t like surrounding myself with closed-mindedness and narrow thinking. I find the constant struggle that people subject themselves to (trying to prove themselves and constantly being the first, best, or have the most money) to be sheepish and rather boring. I honestly can’t stand the way society has shaped most people into vessels void of empathy, compassion, and understanding. I used to be one of those people, just wandering around oblivious to the illusion I was living in. Now when I see people stressing their egos I get a taken back feeling and wonder if it really makes them feel good, because up until this point I felt like I was always seeking something outside myself for fulfillment. Now I write my own rules and I define my own success, as opposed to waiting on someone else to tally my results for me and tell me if I’ve done a good job.

What is a good job?

A good job for most people, I think, is one in which the rewards reaped are equal to or exceed the effort put in to achieve the end result. Most good work is quantified over time and takes into consideration many years of sacrifice and dedication. However, when someone is sacrificing and dedicating their time to reach an idea of success that isn’t even their own, I can see why even after all of their so-called accomplishments: they still feel empty. I think a lot of people experience this in life. I think a lot of people do everything they are supposed to do, according to society or family or friends, and find themselves feeling completely empty inside. I think a lot of people are never given any real opportunities to find what is important to them, because our school systems and work environments cater to a very limited and narrow minded definition of success. What are the first things that you think of when you hear the word success?

For me, those things used to be: money, a nice house, a nice car, nice material possessions, etc (more superficial bs)… Maybe even marriage and having children were ideas of success. Most definitely going to college and obtaining a degree in a field of study that insured a well paying job was considered ‘successful’.  Who would agree? Are pieces of paper showing that you’ve gone to a university really going to prepare you for the work you’ll be doing? Probably not. I guess most people would find this impressive. Oh, look, someone who has their PhD or Masters must be really passionate about x y and z to dedicate their money and time into that particular field of study. Seems logical, right? Is it really? Or did these people attend university only because they felt they had to, in order to play the game, and get their foot into the door of what society expected of them. Wouldn’t a young, passionate, and eager mind be better spent delving directly into it’s passions and learning invaluable real-world experience with what they’re doing, as opposed to waiting sometimes up to 8 years before they are even allowed to practice what they’ve been studying for? Also, how motivated by their passion are they going to be when they’re paying off potentially 6 figures or more of student debt? I bet a lot of their choices at that point will again be skewed by what jobs pay more. Now, instead of having unbridled passion, they have unbridled fear and a feeling of having to accept the highest paying job just to make it by in life. So much for passion, right? Was this the real intention of the education system? To burn people out and keep them from experiencing their passions without footing a tremendous bill and worrying them over how they’re even going to make it by as an adult in society?

Then, there’s another definition of success… The one I have defined for myself.. It involves doing my best to stay healthy and aware of tricks and propaganda around me, being compassionate and understanding when I have an opportunity to be, and valuing what is best for humanity over some trivial game of self-interested pursuits that are based on societies definition of success. In other words, I’m not here to impress anyone other than myself. Leaving a positive impression is also my idea of being successful. I like to leave positive impressions on people I am dealing with, activities that I partake in, and even every day decisions I make. Am I making a decision with my ideals at the forefront? If so, then I am living successfully.

So, as I mentioned, I left my well paying job. I’m looking for work, but I still haven’t found anything that catches my eye. Even companies that portray themselves as non-profit and do-good are really suffering from the same problems that other businesses face. They’re filled with the same people who feel they got betrayed and ripped of their passions for the most part. They feel like they got stuck into a stereotypical box of success that keeps them barricaded into being someone they really aren’t. So, I really think society ( where I am ) has a tendency of sticking people into boxes and expecting very specific things from them in order to deem them as socially acceptable.

I say no, I’m not living in your box anymore. I broke out and now I’m taking the world on one step at a time, and I can honestly say – I’ve never felt more fulfilled.

Leave a comment